Posts Tagged ‘Mandatory Disclosure’

Change in New Hampshire Divorce Laws

October 1, 2012 Leave a comment

By Gary Gahan

In December 2011, a new rule went into effect in regard to New Hampshire’s divorce laws. Rule 1.25-A, or Mandatory Disclosure, requires divorcing parties to share particular financial information with one another early on in the divorce process. The courts require this information so judges can fairly and appropriately make determinations involving assets.

In the case of joint petitions for divorce, both parties must share their financial data within 45 days of the filing date. If a single party filed the petition, the data must be exchanged within 45 days of the date the other party received the filer’s petition. If a hearing is scheduled before the 45 days are complete, the information must be shared no later than 10 days before the hearing. Parties may use the distributed Checklist and Cover Sheet for Mandatory Disclosure to assist them in compiling and sharing the appropriate information.

About the Author:
Gary Gahan, a divorce mediator in Merrimack, New Hampshire, assists clients throughout the divorce process with services such as document preparation, creation of parenting plans, and division of assets.